Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to sheep as well as this forum but I've sure learned lots since joining both worlds!

I have a small flock of six suffolk and suffolk cross ewes as well as a suffolk ram and two lambs.

One of the first ewes that was given to me this summer , Granny, is an older girl. She has all her teeth still but it is guessed that she is about 7-8 years old. When I got her she was very thin and had a snuffly nose. I dewormed her with ivermectin and she came around very well. She has a huge appetite, loves any and all treats especially pumpkin! She is the loudest of the bunch, demanding food every time she sees me.

Two days ago I noticed a swelling on the under-right of her neck, and it has become much larger now. I got a hold of her and felt it and it is hard, about the size of a softball. She hasn't otherwise appeared sick until today - she has a snotty nose. She is still very active and is even more demanding about getting her treats.

I have read about bottle jaw, which seems to be a soft swelling correct? This is definitely a hard swelling. She was last dewormed with ivermectin in August, and she probably had never been dewormed before that.

I have some panacur, should I try that?

There has been some changes for the flock over the past two weeks - I moved them to a different pen and started flushing them with oats/barley/corn. They have also been eating pumpkin every day.

Any ideas what is going on with Granny? What should I do?

·
Premium Member
13,158 Posts
Check her temperature (102.5f +- is normal) check her over for other lumps. Could be an abcess so feel for softer spots on the lumps and you can try to lance it. Careful where you try this you want to catch and dispose of any puss. If it's hard puss or cheesey texture (white) it could be CL. Doesn't really sound like worms though.

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·