Sick Calf

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by outdoor-addict, Mar 20, 2017.

1. outdoor-addict

outdoor-addict Active Member

Forgive my stupidity buy I am fairly new to cattle. I have what I assume to be an angus/dairy cross calf, approximately 3 months old, that is quite weak and sick. Picked up him and two larger calves, a couple of weeks ago, and all looked fine other than he was a little small but he was eating hay and grain good so I took him anyway. Got them home and the next day he had a little of a white discharge coming from his nose which I assumed probably came from transporting him (was a little cool and drizzling rain) as well as slightly loose stool. Next several days he got more and more lethargic acting, ears down and just standing around, so I made an appointment for Tuesday of last week to have the vet castrate him and the two other calves as well as vaccinate, worm and check out the sick calf. He dosed him up with antibiotics and a steroid to hopefully get some pep back in his step. Over the next few days he seemed more alert, white discharge had stopped and stool was no longer loose. However over the last couple of days it has been getting harder and harder for him to get up and do anything. Went out this morning to check on him and he wasn't even able to stand up, he would try to get to his feet but couldn't get his legs under him, had slight white discharge coming from his nose and loose piles of poop with a little blood in them. I should mention his appetite has not been hurt through any of this, little guy will eat all you put out in front of him. Have called vet but am awaiting a response, any help would be appreciated.

2. topside1

topside1 Retired Coastie Supporter

Google "white muscle disease" and maybe your reading will help. Obviously im just guessing.

3. topside1

topside1 Retired Coastie Supporter

But more than likely shipping fever

4. outdoor-addict