Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI, does anyone have a plan for a goat shelter...maybe for 3 goats? I will be trying to build one tomorrow and I have no experience at all building. Any plans or help appreciated.
I do have a barn for if i want to lock them up..but want a pasture shed since the plavce I will have them is away from the barn thanks

·
Premium Member
16,059 Posts
I have 3 wethers for the past 2 winters. The first winter when they were less than a year old I built them a 3 sided shelter about 4' x 5' against my garage. This winter I built them a 3 sided one about 4' x 8 because that's what my materials allowed.

They never spent a single night in it until we started getting -20 F at night. Before that they sleep on the wasted hay next to the round bale.

Just give them a dry place to lie down out of the wind and rain and they should be fine.

What state are you in?

·
Registered
266 Posts
http://www.plamondon.com/hoop-coop.html

I made something similar. Only the back and 3/4 of the front are solid. The only advice I have if you build one of these is to anchor them to tposts that are set deep. We had 60mph winds last weekend and my poor shelter was destroyed [though I easily rebuilt it and this time anchored it]

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi
fishhead I am in TN
Reicheru thanks I like that plan and think it may be easy enough even for me to make. thanks

·
Registered
2,012 Posts