Shelter & Fencing

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Wags, Apr 27, 2006.

1. Wags

Wags Well-Known Member Supporter

We have decided on Nigerian Dwarfs and have found a source for obtaining them that is just a couple of miles from us. Dh tried some goats milk from that source and totally loved it and as a result is finally supporting my desire to get goats.

Shelter: I know the Nigerian's can be housed in large dog houses, but I really want a barn so I can have an indoor milking room. Would it be better to build a seperate goat barn or build a combination goat and horse barn? It will be awhile yet before we get the horses and they will be on the smaller side. (under 15 hands).

Fencing: I have been told that no-climb horse fence is the best fencing to get - would you agree with that? Is there something cheaper that would work as well? Have 3+ acres to fence in for them and the horses.

Any other suggestions for a complete newbie? Things you wish you would have known in advance or done differently. I'd rather take my time and get it set up right the first time than jump in and get critters before I have a proper place prepared for them.

Thanks in advance!

2. pookshollow

pookshollow Pook's Hollow

Congratulations!

If you're building a barn from scratch, I would just combine the goats and horses. You can keep the goats in a regular size horse stall, and have your milking parlour in another - or build it however it suits you. My barn has four stalls - goats are in two, chickens and ducks are in one (although they will be moved, and goats going in there) and my milking parlour/feed room is in the fourth. The horses live outside :p - they have a large run-in shed if they want it - and mostly they don't.