Sheep Shearing?

Discussion in 'Sheep' started by HomeOnTheFarm, Mar 9, 2004.

1. HomeOnTheFarm

HomeOnTheFarm Well-Known Member

I'm pretty new to all of this. The short story is that we bought a flock of sheep & goats & a llama (package deal). The weather today was wonderfully warm (at 62F) the sheep, however (2 ewes, 1 ram) were panting pretty hard during the warmest part of the day.

I have no idea when to shear them, or how to. Is it possible to advertise "Free Wool: You Shear" and have someone competent show up for it? I really have no use for the wool this year (too much to do), so would that be good enough payment for shearing, or is there usually a charge for it? If there is a charge, how much?

Sorry for so many questions, I'm really hoping someone can enlighten me.

2. John Hill

John Hill Grand Master

Shearing just three sheep sounds like a lot of messing around for not much gain. May I suggest that if there are other sheep owners in the area that you ask around, maybe someone will shear yours in with their's for some consideration or other?

Shearing them yourself is certainly possible but would be very hard work without appropriate equipment and getting the equipment seems hardly worth it for the small number.

Once upon a time shearing someone's sheep and getting to keep the fleece would have been a very good deal indeed but I am sure times have changed!

3. bergere

bergere Just living Life

You can also ask the local 4-H or FFA, they should know who shears in your area.

Like JH Said, it is hard work, and takes a bit of learning on how to do it.

4. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter