Shearing with scissors

Discussion in 'Sheep' started by Maura, Jun 5, 2005.

1. Maura

Maura Well-Known Member Supporter

Anyone done this? My shearer is way behind schedule and my sheep are miserable. So, yesterday I began clipping myself. My ram is the only one who will stand still and let me do this. So far I have his neck clipped, half his back, the front of his chest and now working down both shoulders. My goodness, this is time consuming. We used to have a standard poodle, so at least I have some experience in avoiding nipping the skin. It has been raining and a tornado is on the way so I may not get out again to work on him today.

Another question in the same vein: Can a sheep with a full coat tolerate temps in the eighties? I know some people let their sheep go two or more years without being sheared. Obviously, this is neglect, but how do these sheep stand the heat?

2. woolyfluff

woolyfluff Well-Known Member

shade and a lot of water BUT NOT INDOORS THAT IS THE BEST WE CAN SAY

3. betty modin

betty modin Well-Known Member

I have one ewe that has not been sheared because the lady I got her from "hadn't gotten to it yet". She's not only miserable but is a primitive breed and has started to cast a fine coat, turning it into cots and mats. I'm sure she's uncomfortable. Fortunately we've had cool rainy weather, with snow in the forecast for 1000 feet above me. I'm scheduled to take a shearing workshop the end of the month and am watching her closely until then. I may follow your lead and use the scissors as the fleece is no longer usable as it is. I plan to be ready before lambing season next year. betty

4. sheep tamer

sheep tamer former HT member

I have an aversion to loud, noisy shearing
    gizmos, so I use scissors. The easiest to
    use are the fiskars with the soft grip and
    spring-open feature...not the full length
    blades but the shorter 2-3" blades work
    well for me...I usually put the sheep up