Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,095 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This past weekend I have connected my mobile home to a new septic tank. I have never used a septic tank before and was wondering what are the do's and don't associated with being a new septic owner. I've been told (by a city boy) that I need to add some type of starter to the tank to begin the bacteria activity. Is this true, if so what do I use. Also I need to know what NOT to put in the system, like bleach or other harsh chemicals. What would I use to clean the toilet with or to clean out a slow sink drain. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
185 Posts
Keep in mind what it's for , black water(toilet), and grey water( sinks/showers/laundry ).

If you have a garbage disposal on your sink, it is not the best for a septic system, unless you have a trap in the 4" inspection pipe in the tanks, then you have the dubious honor of cleaning the debris out, ewww, far better to scrape your plates into the garbage than down the drain. Oils, fats, and the like from cooking, will thicken in the system and can clog the drain field over a period of years, then the tanks will back up and you have a mess, again, drain oils/fats off into a container that can go in the trash.

The slow drains that you brought up, that is because of physical blockage, learn to clean the drain stopper of the hair ball that eventually forms, and learn to remove the P-Trap if necessary to access and clear the blockage. Chemicals to clear slow drains are not a good idea anyway, personal experience has shown me how bad they eat away plumbing parts.

Flushable products; wet wipes, toilet cleaning pads/rags, feminine hygene products, paint from the brush, etc.... not into the septic tank, they don't break down as advertised, I've had the joyous task of cleaning that stuff out of macerators, even 6months later after being shredded, it still wasn't broken down and can still clog the system.