Self supporting rabbit colony

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by Ben_slow, Oct 3, 2006.

1. Ben_slow

Ben_slow Member

Hi all,

I’m brand spanking new to this forum and also to the world of raising rabbits for meat. I’ve read lots though and whilst a newbie here I’m not a newbie to self sufficiency. My wife, daughter and I live on a 30 acre permaculture farm in Nicaragua. We have Turkeys and Chickens, vegey gardens, fruit orchards and other home steady things. Our latest plan is to add rabbit to our diet. I have a basic design in mind and wondered if you folk could add any knowledge/idea’s to it before we implement.

We want largely self reliant housing for our rabbits (just 2 does and a buck for kick off). Where we live is very hot and/or very wet. Materials are generally expensive and a long way from our farm. So the simpler the better.

The design;

I’m thinking of a 15’ x 15’ enclosure (more or less) made of 1” chicken wire, roofed with zinc on one side or in one corner for shelter and nesting and over shaded with trees but open sided all the way around to allow for wind and cooling. Probably a segregated caged buck, confined to quarters or to a seperate 'run' other than for mating.

We’ll supply an internal windbreak and plenty of shade (provided by trees) to a ¼ or ½ the enclosure for keeping them cool/warm dependent on weather and also site the enclosure in the breesiest site we have.