self sucking heifer????

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by lorian, Jun 24, 2006.

1. lorian

lorian Well-Known Member

We got a free jersey heifer, she's about 18 months old. They told us she had been sucked on by a calf and one teat had mastitis, she would be a 3 titter (sp?). Anyway, after we got her home I noticed her other teats looked like they were longer and another part of her udder was getting infected. She's got a little bit of milk in three quarters of her udder now. Can you milk a cow with only 2 teats? I'm a newbie to cows.

Will she be any good to milk in the future? I've never observed her "self sucking" but I'm confused about how she would have all these problems.
    She's without other cattle now, just an annoyed pony for company.

Thanks!

2. james dilley

james dilley Well-Known Member Supporter

Yes you can milk only 2 Quaters. Try putting A twitch on her,That way she can't self suck ..

3. Up North

Up North KS dairy farmers

Yes you can milk 2 teats, but wouldn't want to if you are using a milking machine. Why not treat 3rd quarter for mastitis immediately and try to maintain her as a 3 quartered cow?
    If she really is sucking on herself- perhaps you could put her in a stall where she can't reach her udder for a few days and see if you can break the habit?

4. Hammer4

Hammer4 Well-Known Member

She already had a calf at 18 months old? On the self sucking, they sell those flaps to go on calves to wean them, you might put one of those on her.

5. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

Has she had a calf? I somehow get the feeling she hasn't. It would cause her udder to get bigger in the quarter she sucks if she has been sucking herself. They make an outfit that she can wear that would prevent her from sucking. It's very unlikely she will ever be to good as a milk cow.

6. Ronney

Ronney Well-Known Member