Self Built Timber Frame

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Stush, Aug 11, 2004.

1. Stush

Stush Well-Known Member

There was post here few days ago from someone that was planning to build a timber frame home. I have been building my own timber frame for about 18 months and thought that I would post these photos. My frame consists of 160 pieces, of which I have cut 150. Looks like I should have the rest cut in the next few weeks and have everything up and enclosed before winter. What a long process this has been. I'll post more photos as I make progress.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Blu3duk

Blu3duk Well-Known Member

That is an awesome craftsman job you are doing there, Ive put up full scribed log houses since 1991, but i cheat i use a power saw to cut away the log and saddle notches, but i always wondered how long it would take to do it by hand..... ok so i know it would take a whole lot longer with an adze, chiesel and mallet, but the custom fir is still done with pocket knife in the end that way i do it.

I do so admire hand crafted houses over the "blow and go" tract houses everyone lives in these days.

William

3. Future Farmer

Future Farmer Member

These pictures are absolutely beautiful. I've read a ton on timber framing, but I've never had the opportunity to watch someone actually cut the timbers or put them together. I'm so jealous! Your cuts look fantastic. I really like your sawhorses.

4. fordy

fordy Well-Known Member

.......................You, obviously have put alot of effort into this project , not counting the investment in tools and plans and material .
    .............Just a few questions to help myself and others decide if this is a project that might be feasible for the uninitiated and cluless about this type of construction.....(1) Do\did you have previous experience that would enable you to feel comfortable tackling this type of construction?