seeding, pasture care and capacity of/for small acreage

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by angus, May 1, 2005.

1. angus

angus Somewhere in Oklahoma

Hello,

I am very new to this idea but am considering buying some small acreage for homesteading.

Questions:

1) What kind of equipment do I need to maintain a small 5-10 acre pasture? Can I manually broadcast?
    2) Assuming good land that has plenty of moisture ( 40-45 inches rain per year ), how many head of cattle per acre is possible ( .5 or 1 ) ?

Many Thanks In Advance for All Replies

2. Alice In TX/MO

Alice In TX/MO More dharma, less drama. Supporter

You might want to talk to your local extension agent about stocking rates for your area. There are LOTS of variables, depending on location, soil, weather, temperatures, grass variety, etc.

If you put in the right grass for your area, you will only have to plant once. But broadcasting won't work on most modern grass seeds. Seeds need to be in the soil, not on top.

More info needed to answer your questions, too. Is there established grass, what kind, has it ever been fertilized? Do you have fences?

Even with small acreage, you can do rotation grazing and have a higher stocking rate and healthier grass and cattle, but it is more labor intensive.

Remember that you are at the beginning of the learning curve! :)

3. minnikin1

minnikin1 Shepherd

You will need to mow, preferably with a bar so your hay will not be too chopped up. A small tractor would be handy but you could get by with regular lawn equipment.
    You will need to control "edges" because when you have a small property every inch counts, so you definitely don't want something too big.
    You will need some kind of means to rake your hay, so I would want a simple one for the tractor to pull. You can manage without a baler on that size if you don't mind doing some manual labor, just create your haystacks by hand.