Scarlet runner trelis ideas

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Ross, Feb 1, 2005.

1. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter

What can I use for scarlet runners to climb on to? I'm thinking of planting 200-300 feet of them using cedar pickets and round baler net wrap (looks like plastic bird screen)

2. Lilandra

Lilandra talk little, listen much

I'm going to plant them on a garden arbor to create a path through a flower bed in the front yard.

I hope other's share their ideas -- this is my first year planning on using them instead of other bean varieties.

3. fordson major

fordson major construction and Garden b Supporter

you will not be sorry for planting them !!great looking with the red flowers.very prolific with great tasting fruit. we have grown them on a 6 foot chain link fence around"grampas" garden.now we want to grow them in our own gardens. an arbour sounds nice but they will be hard to pick with out a step ladder. would love an arbour covered in morning glories coming in our front yard but still have not built the arbour!

4. becky4050

becky4050 Member

I haven't used it for runner beans but other climbing things in my garden have been successfully raised using old cattle panels held up by metal fence posts - 2 at each end and slide the panel between them. If your fence posts are tall enough you can raise the panel up a foot or so, tying it to the fence and just use sticks stuck in the ground to get the vines up to the fence. I like this because it is easy to move next year. A friend of mine has sometimes made a "sandwich" of the cattle panels, planting the vines in between.