Sam Houston peaches

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by whiterock, Mar 2, 2005.

1. whiterock

whiterock Well-Known Member Supporter

Anyone familiar with this variety? I bought 2 last week and had never heard of them before.
    Ed

2. MsPacMan

MsPacMan Well-Known Member

When I saw your thread, I opened it eagerly, because I have a Sam Houston peach tree I bought in the autumn of 2003.

It was a beautiful tree when I bought it, and did quite well last year, though it was too young to bear fruit.

But like you, I have not been able to find out anything about this variety.

Hope somebody that knows more about them posts something here.

3. whiterock

Me too. I would buy a rock if it said Sam Houston on it. I got my degrees from Sam Houston State Univ. and have studied him a good bit. Kind of a hang up.

4. whiterock

Does ANYONE know about this variety?

5. NativeRose

NativeRose Texas Country Grandma

I also have been trying to find out about this variety. Bob Well's Nursery in Lindale, Texas sells this variety and the catalog I got from them says it has low chilling requirements and is recommended as far south as Laredo. Large yellow freestone with red colorings. Excellent for Central and South Texas areas. Excellent grower. June ripener.

I would like to have info from someone who is actually growing them.

What year did you graduate Whiterock? I graduated from Sam in 1975. If you are a Sam Houston buff I have an interesting family legend about Old Sam.