Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
We have had two saanens for the past three weeks. This is my first time with goats. One in milk.

I would say that her milk supply has been decreasing over the past few weeks, and it seems to me that after i gave her the dewormer (rumatol) that she was less hungry the next day and also had about half as much milk as normal. Is this normal for them to go through?

In order to increase her supply I have been giving her an extra milking during the day, which also means for pellets and alfalfa.

This is the first time she has been dewormed, the previous owner didn't think it necessary because of their housing situation. However, i thought her eyes weren't as pink as i'd like them.

So my basic questions are....
Why the decrease in milk?
Is a reaction normal after worming?

we really love having goats and look forward to learning more! They are very sweet creatures and I want to take good care of them and continue to provide great milk for my family.

·
STILL not Alice
19,808 Posts
My gal's production goes down when she's coming into heat. IIRC, Saanens are seasonal - at least the one I had was. ;)

I am not familiar with the dewormer you mention. The only thing I found (probably the same as Alice) is an herbal medication for humans.

·
Registered
2,287 Posts
Dairy goats are typically milked for 2-3 months into their pregnancy. They need at least 2 months off from milking to rebuild udder tissue and allow their nutrition go to the fetuses inside.

·
Registered
714 Posts
Rumatel , not too far off. Not a very effective dewormer in any case. Fecal first and deworm accordingly. How much in volume of milk has decreased. Is this over the past few weeks, or definitely attributable to the deworming?

·
Registered
714 Posts