Russian anvils, any good?

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by woodsrunner, Apr 1, 2005.

1. woodsrunner

woodsrunner Well-Known Member

I've been shopping for an decent anvil for a while. I've been eyeing these russian made anvils on ebay for the past few months. It looks like I could get one of these delivered to my door for half what a comparable vintage one would cost.

Anybody have any experience with these imports?

My main use is going to be making knives and equipment for historical reinactors.

I don't want to waste my money on something that may crack the first time I try to do anything a little heavy on it.

2. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter

I have some experience with Russian castings in farm machinery. While I would charactorize it as serviceable I would stop short of calling it equal to American made. Personally I wouldn't take a hammer to any Russian casting but if it is a forged anvil it's probably fine. As the ones on Ebay are cheap they're probably cast. Got a link?

3. farminghandyman

farminghandyman Well-Known Member Supporter

will a section of rail road rail work for you, some times you can pick then up for free,

that is what I started put with,

4. moopups

moopups In Remembrance

In beautiful downtown Sticks, near Belleview, Fl.
    Possesion of railroad rail can be a federal offence, its an old law conserning scraping out rails - an illegal practice from days past. If you have more than a small bit, you need documentation of where it came from. Don't ever take rail to a scrap yard without the paperwork to back you up.

5. woodsrunner

6. james dilley

james dilley Well-Known Member Supporter

Check northern tool for anvils they have 3 sizes and decent prices too.

7. Blu3duk

Blu3duk Well-Known Member