Rural Development Projects

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by terriv, Mar 23, 2005.

1. terriv

terriv Well-Known Member

I am a real estate agent in Mississippi. I've recently gotten involved with a man that built a lake in 2000 and is developing a small rural community around it. This has gotten me very interested in the process of developing organized rural communities from onset to finish. Has anyone ever done this themselves? Want to talk about it?

(Have to go to work but I'll be back.)

2. moopups

moopups In Remembrance

In beautiful downtown Sticks, near Belleview, Fl.
    Do your best to discourage this idea, I have watched Florida go from paradise to exstremely over priced houseing developments. The influx of population ruins everything, traffic becomes nightmares, schools are over crowded, the roads are not able to carry the extra vehicles. Taxes rise, vandals become a big threat followed by gang warfare, pollution becomes rampant, property goes through the roof pricewise.

Yes, I know, you only want a little progress, but those residents are going to have to have stores, hospitals, dry cleaners, jobs, places to go to church, it never ends after it is started. Along comes regurlations, building inspectors, city governments, more taxes, more police needed, do you really want to lite the fuse that destroys your area?

3. mtman

mtman Well-Known Member

i agree with you most people i know are trying to move away from it not trying to hjelp it grow

4. perennial

perennial Well-Known Member

5. antiquestuff

antiquestuff Well-Known Member

Don't do it. Stop bringing the city to the country. It ruins things. It starts small, then it grows. Then you get all the restrictions, the traffic, the stores, etc., and before long the country is gone and the city is there instead. Don't do it! Please!

6. mtman

mtman Well-Known Member