Restoring an old barn- worth it?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Leah IL, Aug 15, 2004.

1. Leah IL

Leah IL momto6

Hi, I'm new to these boards. My husband and I just bought a 5 acre farm in Illinois. We'll be moving in 2 weeks and we are very excited to be embarking on this adventure with our 4 kids! We are complete novices, my husband was raised in Trenton, NJ and I've always been a suburban girl myself, but we are determined to change our lifestyle and give our children the kind of life we think they deserve.

The property we bought has a big old beautiful barn on it, but it is in need of some serious work. The roof on one side is very damaged and some of the beams have rotted. The other side is in better condition but would still need a new roof. We found a guy that will tear down the old barn for $2000 if he can keep the wood. He'll haul away all the debris, break up the concrete foundation and bury it for us. This is a good deal from what we can tell, but we both feel so sad to tear down the old barn. Does anyone know what we'd be looking at as far as costs to restore it? We're probably just being romantic about it, but we hate to see it go.

Thanks-
    Leah

2. moopups

moopups In Remembrance

In beautiful downtown Sticks, near Belleview, Fl.
    What size timber do you need to replace? How much square footage of roof material do you need? What can you get the material for? Calculate the cost includeing the disposal of the rotted lumber, the question may answer its self. Wood is very high right now with no drop in sight.

3. CraftyDiva

CraftyDiva Is anybody here?

You might want to check the going rate for "Old Barn Wood" before you sign anything. What's the cost if you keep the wood?

4. mikell

mikell Well-Known Member

Get an estimate to fix it and figure the cubic feet of area to replace. The old barn may not be as bad as you thought. I spent 6k for repairs and a new barn would have been 25k.

mikell

5. uncle Will in In.