Rescued Goats

Discussion in 'Goats' started by NewEnglandBeth, Mar 1, 2005.

1. NewEnglandBeth

NewEnglandBeth Well-Known Member

We are looking into getting milking goats.

One question.....if you were just starting out, would you begin with rescued, mature goats or two kids, male and female.

What do you see as the pros and cons of rescued goats?

Would it be better, as being new to this, that our family raise two kids first, getting used to them and them to us?

2. jill.costello

jill.costello Well-Known Member

Hi Beth, Hmmmm..... I am fairly new to being a goat-mom; I ended up getting mine extremely young because one needed to be bottle fed and the other was a little 3-month old cousin who came along to be a companion for the first. As bonded and adoring as they are to me (they come running when I aaaahh-aaahh at them & nap in my lap on the porch) I would be tempted to say "start with kids!"....

However, when I was in Vet Tech school, we had a section on "Caprine Care & Handling" and worked with donated goats from the surrounding rural area. (goats that would go back to their farms after our semester of learning how to hold them/ trim feet/ take temperatures/ etc was over). Even though these goats were full-grown, all different breeds, and from several different environments, they were absolutely endearing and a pleasure to work with.

I know that doesn't really answer your question; how "damaged" were these goats that were rescued? Just bad feet & wormy, or much more horrible?? I certainly wouldn't want to tangle with a full-grown goatie who's mad at the world.....

Anyone else? -Jill

3. mpillow

mpillow Well-Known Member Supporter

Rescue goats likely carry disease and will not be very productive....