Replacement dairy heifers

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by topside1, Nov 26, 2005.

1. topside1

topside1 Retired Coastie Supporter

Hi all, looking for some information. I have been raising Holstein bull calves/steers with great success I enjoy watching them grow into feeder calves and beyond. Now I'm looking for a new challenge and feel raising Holstein heifer calves for dairy farmers would be right up my alley. I know this business exists however I have no background on what to charge, how long to raise the calves, do I buy the calves? Do I re-sell back to dairy farmer? Are they on loan? Bottom line how would I get paid and how much should I expect to be paid for performing this service? The reason I am asking is so I can sound reasonably intelligent before approaching the areas large milk producers about my offer. Thanks for your time folks....Tennessee John

2. JeffNY

JeffNY Seeking Type

Depends what your after, as far as income. Do you want a consistent income? Or do you want to know you will get some good money for what your raising? If you want the latter, buy registered stock. They can be sold (yearling heifers), for 2000+. That is for holsteins. A farm locally sells their cows for 3000. Different prices in different regions as well. She sells her to individuals (not an auction). If you want an income all the time. I think when the farm locally raised them, I think he received 1.25 or 1.50 per animal, per day. He did not own them, he grew them. If you want, I could pass you a number to a grower, someone that raises animals for a large dairy (local grower). She raises calves from day old to 100 days, then they go back to the farm. Not sure how much she charges, but it might be an idea..

Jeff

3. agmantoo

agmantoo agmantoo Supporter