reliable snowmobile

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by fordson major, Dec 21, 2005.

1. fordson major

fordson major construction and Garden b Supporter

whats been your experience on a sled that has to go and not konk out . DW HAS to drive to work in some very nasty winter weather and at odd hours of the day. was thinking that a snowmobile filled the bill but have not had much to do with them since the 70's. (left on the trail to much!!!) speed is less important than durability. we do have two vintage sleds, a John Deere 440 liqufire and a Yamaha srv but dont consider them up to the job!!

2. Cabin Fever

Cabin Fever Life NRA Member since 1976 Supporter

In my experience, any of the BIG four brands will give you good service (Polaris, Arctic Cat, Ski Doo, and Yamaha). For dependibility, stick with a twin cylinder of 440cc (+/-). I have no experience with the new four-strokes, but the 440 twin two strokes will give you thousands of trouble free miles. I think all four manufactuers offer a 440 twin.

3. ChickenHound

ChickenHound Well-Known Member

I've had lots of experience with the new 4 strokes, but they are way more than you'll need for just going to and fro. Personally, they're all I would ever own now, but I'm looking for performance in them, not basic transportation.

I would look at a Polaris - few would argue that any Indy is a well built, reliable, and usually a comfortable machine. They're stable and easy to operate. Parts are widely available.

Yamaha is another excllent brand, but has had some stinkers. Stay away from Phazers of all models, unless your wife wants to dump the sled on a regular basis.

4. sisterpine

sisterpine Goshen Farm Supporter