Raw Feeders-Talk Me Down!

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by GoldenMom, May 19, 2005.

1. GoldenMom

GoldenMom Well-Known Member

I've been feeding raw for about 5 years (started 6 years ago, but I took a "break" for a year a couple of years ago). Lately I've been very frustrated with the amount of time I have to spend preparing the diet and I've been REALLY frustrated with my 9 month old pup. Her stools are consistantly soft. It's not that she has accidents or anything, I just can't stand the cow pies. I have tried figuring out what may be causing the soft stools by eliminating veggies and supplements for a while and treating her for a week with Metronidazole/Flagyl in case of bacterial overgrowth. Still had soft stools on just RMBs! :waa: The ironic thing is I started this type of diet because my older dog had diarrhea every night (the urgent kind) when he was a pup and eating commercial food. As far as the time issue goes, I know there are lots of different "recipes" out there that don't call for supplements, etc. but I can't seem to long-term NOT feed some sort of supplement. That's the part of my diet that takes the most time and costs the most. Supplements I have used/tried: ProZyme (digestive enzymes), kelp/alfalfa, salmon oil, cod liver oil, vitamins B, C, and E, and glucosamine/chondroitin. My basic diet plan: 60% RMB, 20% veggies/fruit (pulverized), 12.5% organ meat, 7.5% "other" (mostly eggs with the shell and yogurt).