Raising Goats for meat

Discussion in 'Goats' started by HobbyfarmingMO, Apr 15, 2006.

1. HobbyfarmingMO

HobbyfarmingMO Member

I have some pet goats and love them dearly. Since I enjoy them so much, I am thinking about raising goats for meat. I have 8 acres going to waste. Anybody have any tips ... getting started, breeds, etc. I haven't made up my mind yet, but it can't hurt to start doing some research. Thanks!

2. Terre d'Esprit

Terre d'Esprit Boer-ing Mom

I took some web-based training here:

http://www2.luresext.edu/goats/training/qa.html

I also know that the Penn State Exension office offers online training.

I joined the state meat goat association, and found some really wonderful mentors.

Good luck! I'm just getting started too.

T

3. Dee

Dee Well-Known Member

I have Boers. I really like them. They are hardy, quiet and cute. They don't mind the rain and snow as much as I've seen other goats. Quiet heats, easy deliveries. Good mothers.

I started with two pregnant does who had 5 does their first kidding. Kept 4 of them with the moms for my foundation herd.

4. Terry W

Terry W Duchess of Cynicism

Word of caution here-- raising for meat is NOT raising for enjoyment-- do you have the capability to see them go off to slaughter without crying your heart out or feeling guilty for killing them? You have to be able to distance yourself, in a way, from them. you cannot let yourself get "attached" to something that is intended to be dinner!

5. BlessedMom

BlessedMom Well-Known Member

My son raises boers for the 4H sale. I cry my eyes out on loading day...in the bathroom where no one can see.
    :Bawling: :Bawling:

6. Terry W

Terry W Duchess of Cynicism

okay <hug>