Raising Angoras, profitable?

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by yuvgotmel, Oct 10, 2006.

1. yuvgotmel

yuvgotmel Well-Known Member

Hi,

I am considering getting a couple angoras and possibly selling them. Are they very profitable? I live in Missouri so I don't know if that is a hotspot for them or not.

Are there any breeders in missouri?

Thanks

2. CountryDreams

CountryDreams Well-Known Member

I've been raising them for about six months now. I live in Missouri and I do know that there aren't a whole lot of angora breeders in this state.
    I find that I'm having to sell them for a lot less than they are really worth just to sell them.
    I'm not going to be breeding mine for quite a while due to that fact.
    Good luck on it if you decide to get into it. I don't want to keep you from doing it, just research your market for them.

3. Somerhill

Somerhill Well-Known Member

Here are two suggestions to boost your sales in MO. Attend rabbit shows and build up a group of people interested in showing, and work to build your own reputation as someone who breeds quality show rabbits and is reputable.
    Second, attend fiber shows and have a demo on how to groom, clip, etc., and have angora fiber and yarns to sell. It helps to have FAQ sheets made up on caring for angoras for newbies. They will sell from $25-40 at fiber festivals. Take empty boxes for people to take them home in, and know where they can find cages reasonably priced locally. Take baggies of pellets to send home too. (shoots down all the excuses why they can't buy the rabbit today - hehe)
    An up to the minute website with good pictures helps a lot.

I have shipped rabbits to MO, so I know there are people there who are interested. :rolleyes:

Best
    Lisa at Somerhill
    www.somerhillfarm.com

4. holleegee

holleegee Well-Known Member