Raised Beds

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by SweetSarah, Jun 26, 2006.

1. SweetSarah

SweetSarah Well-Known Member

Hubby and I are thinking of adding some raised bed sections to our garden. We are thinking of installing them later this summer or maybe even in the fall so we can have a head start on next spring. I would appreciate any and all tips you have on raised bed gardening and pictures too. My husband is unfamiliar with them in general so if anyone has a good ppic or two of some, I'd love to show them to him.

2. SweetSarah

SweetSarah Well-Known Member

Come on now people! ;) 12 views and no replies, surely one of you out there must know something about raise bed gardening:
    -What grows best in raised beds?
    -Is there anything you wouldn't recommend planting in one?
    -Are railroad ties a good choice for a border? Even if they are treated?
    -Should I put some kind of mulch down this fall if not planting till spring?

I am completely new to this so any tips or suggestions are greatly appreciated.
    :)

3. Dixielee

Dixielee Well-Known Member

I'll give it a shot. We have about 20 raised beds and love them. My husband built them with landscape timbers stacked sort of log cabin style. They fit closely together and the dirt does not come out. Most are 4 timbers high. For comfort, you can nail a 2x6 across the top of one side or all sides. It really gives them a finished look and gives you a bench to sit on to do your weeding. Our garden is my favorite spot to just sit and look anyway, so it makes a nice sitting area.