Raised Bed Question - non-treated lumber??

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Wannabee, Jan 3, 2005.

1. Wannabee

Wannabee Foggy Dew Farms

Hi, I am a definite newbie as far as raised beds go. I've read some threads on railroad ties versus treated lumber, and I have heard pros and cons.

The question I have is, in zone 5, if you would use regular, non-treated lumber, and use lag screws or nails, how long will that lumber last before rotting out????? Is that the best method? I want it to be attractive, yet functional. If I paint the outside for looks and protection, how soon will it rot on the soil-side???

Thanks a bunch!

2. kjerckie

kjerckie Well-Known Member

I asked the same question to a friend who has beds. He said to use the 8"x16" cinder blocks. Wood attracts carpenter ants, termites and other bugs. Plus they won't rot. So thats what I using.

3. marvella

marvella Well-Known Member

i use cinder blocks too. takes 14 to make a roughly 4 x 4 bed, just the right size to reach into. last year was the first time i ever had raised beds and had the best garden i ever. seems like it helped keep stuff from getting frost bitten too, maybe because they hold heat better. and they last forever.

4. Ray_Scheel

Ray_Scheel Well-Known Member

I also use cinder blocks, and would not use RR ties under and circumstance. I use a little treated wood for some of the larger bits of latticework and posts for trellises, etc.

If appearances are important, a thin mortar bed of concrete to set the blocks and a coat of hypertyffa can make cinder blocks look amazing, but don't do that until you've had the bed a year and are sure you like its placement.

For wood, a layer of plastic on the soil side will help keep it from staying saturated with soil moisture, and there are also "natural" treatments like boiled linseed oil to help waterproof the wood before placing it in ground contact.

5. wy_white_wolf

wy_white_wolf Just howling at the moon