Raise a calf vs. buy a yearling??

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by allenslabs, Feb 7, 2005.

1. allenslabs

allenslabs Saanen & Boer Breeder

I was wondering what everyones thoughts are raising a calf vs buying a yearling. Is it worth the money to buy a yearling or buy a cheaper calf and raise if for 9 months to hit the same age? I've found a yrling jersey/holstein cross for $600 and 2 little jersey bottle calves for $650 for the pair and hubby thinks it would be best to get the bottle calf and save the $. But the cross is right down the rd and tame and the calves are in FL and we live in IN and we go there once a month or 2 to haul hay to a stable but I think it would be about the same $ in the end by the time we bottle feed and feed it and would most likely have a vet fee and stuff. Just thought it would be good to get everyone elses opinion as I'm new to the whole raising bottle babies and dairy cows. I'm good w/ angus and horses but not dairy! HAHA! Anyway........... thanks for the help

2. Paula

Paula Well-Known Member

How old are the bottle babies? Jerseys are the hardest breed I know of to bottle raise. They are very frail, get sick easy, and are so tiny they don't have much reserve to help them get over an illness. You would probably actually save money buying the yearling. Especially if you consider your time and the potential hassle and heartache of dealing with the bottle babies.

3. allenslabs

The babies are about 1 month or less. I've heard the Jersies are a frail breed. Thanks alot for the info!

4. wr

wr Moderator Staff Member Supporter