Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone else here quilt (piecing togther) simple. I mean without all of the fancy tools.
I learned how to make a quilt by myself, there was no one around to teach me. But I had to do it without rotery cutters and mats and all of the do dads.
My husband was not going to indualge in ANOTHER craft!
But even though I have been doing it for a few years I still have never went out and bought the "required tools" I also like to hand sew just as a matter of liking it for my down time.
The only reason I am asking this is I am just wondering if I am the only one.
Dont get me wrong I love all of the tools out there and maybe will use them, but right now buying material will send my dh cringing.

·
Registered
1,137 Posts
For years that is the only way I quilted. I do now have rotory and mat. I will piece on the machine a little, just for the DGC using quilts. Some swaps I have done that way as well. All else are done by hand. Just so relaxing. I have 3 I'm working on now in different stages. So don't feel lonely we are here stitching right along with you.

·
Premium Member
15,981 Posts
I normally use the rotary cutter, it's just more accurate than I can be using scissors. Even when I fussy cut, I usually use the rotary. I did make a baby quilt using 3/4" hexagons and did all of the cutting and piecing by hand. Right now I am sewing another quilt by hand, I think it will be queen size. I cut the pieces by rotary.

When your DH cringes, just smile sweetly at him.

·
Icelandic Sheep
3,348 Posts
I do :)

I put my quilt's face together on a sewing machine because I feel it's stronger, but I do all of my quilting and embroidering by hand.

My sewing machine cost $70. It goes forward, backward, and it does a zigzag stitch. That is all. LOL