questions about taking goats to the fair(need fast responses please)

Discussion in 'Goats' started by myrandaandkids, Jul 24, 2006.

1. myrandaandkids

myrandaandkids Well-Known Member

i have never done this before, so i need some help, the county fair is in a week and a half, and i was so excited i sighned up with out knowing what to do first, i am showing my milking saanen and her yearling daughter, also my nubian doeling, and my yearling carmel pygmy doe, none of these are registered because i do not know how to do that, my first question is how do you register a goat who has never been registered?,(i realize this probly wont happen before the fair), next what are the judges looking for?,also my yearling saanen is skiddish, is that going to cause a problem? my milker had a bad reaction to the sandfly attack this year, her utter has healed, but is very dry and rough, will this be a problem? what do i need to know about showing pygmys? are there any specific markings or temperment they are looking for?my nubian doeling has a very oily coat is there a remedy for this, will the judges have a problem with this? ooohhh i realy got in over my head this time!!! all this because of a challenge from another farmer who said he wouldnt be caught dead taking sorry stock like mine to show, this occured when he came to buy milk from me and caught me playing fetch and doing tricks with my nubian doeling and leash training my saanen buckling, i didnt even notice him for over an hour while the goats and i played, it wasnt untill he saw my pygmys jumping through and innertube that he starting laughing profusly and i was emarrassed, then he said i better realize real quick that these are just stupid goats not dogs and if i didnt figure that out soon id be sorely disappointed, when i told hm i enjoyed it and was proud of them he said we belonged in a freak circus,i said a show ring maybe....he said what i already told you he said and i said wanna make a bet? he said i dare ya to sh