Questions about humane, long-distance shipping

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by willow_girl, Jan 3, 2007.

1. willow_girl

willow_girl Very Dairy

I am looking at moving from Michigan to PA (about 450 miles) sometime in the next 6 months. I plan to take my 4 cows (3 Holsteins and a Jersey) with me. The cows all are currently dry and 3 out of the 4 are bred. Two (both Holsteins) are aged -- both about 10. One of the old girls is bred. All are in good shape. They were bull bred and could be due anywhere between April and late July.

I want to ship them in the most humane and comfortable manner possible.

I'm not sure whether it would be best to ship them dry or wait until after calving.

I'm thinking it would be best to wait until spring, but not so late that they're standing in a hot trailer all day?

What else do I need to take into consideration? Any and all suggestions welcome ... I have never done this before ... thanks!

2. Oldguy

Oldguy Well-Known Member

Your probably don't want to put the calves in the same trailer as the cows. They fall during shipment unless packed in tight and even then they lose footing and hit the floor. Calf wouldn't survive that very well.

3. unioncreek

unioncreek Well-Known Member Supporter

I would ship them dry if possible, when you ad calves that increases the likely hood of one getting hurt. If you have to ship them after they calve the best way is to seperate them during shipment. With only having to ship them 450 miles you will not need to stop and unload them during the trip, they'll handle that distance easily. Just have feed and water available when they arrive, you may want to have hay and water available during shipping if that's possible.

Bobg

4. Up North

Up North KS dairy farmers

Giving them shots for shipping fever would be a good precaution. I would ship them while dry, and if possible 5 weeks or more before calving due dates.