questions about goats

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Deb&Al, Jan 27, 2005.

1. Deb&Al

Deb&Al Well-Known Member

hi

i posted the question about chicken pox and goat milk. my husband and i would like to get our own goats, and i think this chicken pox thing has tipped the scales.

i looked through this site this morning and could not find answers to these questions.
    -------------------------------------------------
    1) which of these two options is best, and why?
    starting with a mama goat and her babies?
    starting with weaned babies, two females?

we've already figured that starting with a mama means we would have milk, but being new to owning goats we wonder if that would be too quick of a learning curve too fast.
    --------------------------------------------------
    2) if we went with lamanchas for the reason that we've read that theyhave the hightest butterfat...i've been making cheese from goat's milk for several years now....this is going to be a math question....

right now i get four gallons every two weeks. two is fresh and two is frozen.

out of the fresh i pour one gallon of the milk into pint jars and freeze for daily thawing for drinking for the next two weeks, and the other gallon is made into yogurt and buttermilk. the buttermilk is used for baking and the yogurt is divided into eating fresh and making yogurt cheese.

the two gallons of frozen milk is thawed friday night and on saturday i make cheese. so, twice a month i make cheese, depending on what i'm running low on. it could be motzerella or colby or cheddar, not to mention all of the soft cheeses that you can make. then, when i've made hard cheese, i use the whey for making ricotta.

the whey is saved for breadmaking, and what's left goes to the chickens. they love their "soup" with the whey and bits of leftover bits of vegetables and bread scraps.