questions about a jersey steer

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by GoldenWood Farm, Jul 31, 2004.

1. GoldenWood Farm

GoldenWood Farm Legally blonde! Supporter

Hi,
    I am looking into getting a jersey calf/steer to raise out for meat. Can a steer be able to live on a 1/2 acre of land if I supplemented his feed? Plus how long do they need to be on a lambar? I am totally new to cows. Any advise would be great!

MotherClucker

2. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

If you are buying the calf, a holstien would be most peoples choice of dairy calf because they grow faster, get bigger, and have white fat like beef cattle. The Jerseys have yellow fat. 1/2 acre would be enough room for the calf, but it wouldn't likely produce enough grass for the calf the second year. You would need hay and grain to supplement the grass, and that would be the entire ration through the winter. I don't know what you are referring to when you say lambar. The calf would be getting nearly 2 years old when it is ready to butcher by most standards, but that don't mean you can't butcher it much sooner if you wish to.

3. I thought you could butcher at a year...hmm shows how wrong I am. A lambar is a way to bottle raise them. Since I would get it at like a day old and raise it my self on my goats milk. I truthfully prefer a jersey to a holstein and fat color doesn't matter much to me.

MotherClucker

4. OD

OD Well-Known Member

We butcher all the steer calves out of my Jersey cow, I can't understand why people have such a problem with yellow fat. I think Jersey meat tastes great. We usually butcher ours at about 10 months old & they usually weigh about 950 pounds. They are only half Jersey though. A full blood Jersey would take longer to get ready to butcher. He would need to be fed milk for at least 2 months, or longer if you want him to grow faster.

5. Night Owl

Night Owl Active Member

Hi,