question on feed for pregnant does

Discussion in 'Goats' started by tiergarten-CO, Jan 2, 2005.

1. tiergarten-CO

tiergarten-CO Well-Known Member

Hi there
    we were told that we should discontinue alfalfa 8 weeks before kidding. We are wondering if this is true and if so why?
    Could anyone help us out.
    thank you in advance...
    Kerstin and Tony from Colorado
    ps: Great board with tons of info THANKS we have learned a lot

2. dbarjacres

dbarjacres Well-Known Member Supporter

Great question. I'm new to goats too and about to have my first kidding season. We are feeding second crop alfalfa and some second crop grass/clover mix too. I think some people are saying to stop feeding it because it's high in calcium. But then there's all the other people that say they NEED to have straight alfalfa because they can get Ketosis otherwise. They are so full of babies they can't eat enough and then they get sick and die - basically starve. One of my goat's breeders had this happen to her last year and this is what the vet told her after she lost her best doe with quads. I don't know what's supposed to be true, I've only heard to feed them the alfalfa, but the last few weeks, seen a couple of places now to not feed it.

3. farmgirl85

farmgirl85 Member

I am interested in knowing why you would want to stop feeding afalfa 8 weeks before. I would think the nutrition from the alfalfa would be good. I plan on feeding alfalfa mix all along. What is the right thing to do?

4. AnnaS

AnnaS Well-Known Member

It has to do with the calcium levels... from what I understand, feeding high calcium, especially if phos. and magnesium levels are low, can set up heavy milking does for milk fever when they kid.
    I wonder if this is one of those "goats are tiny cows" things, though. I think the odds of a doe with multiple kids starving under otherwise good feed, are a lot higher than a doe down with milk fever. Just don't see a lot of dairy cows carrying triplets!