Question for an electrician

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by rangercat, Feb 11, 2004.

1. rangercat

rangercat Well-Known Member

This may be impossible to answer without more specifics, but here goes... My husband and I are considering buying a house from an Amish family. At one time there was elecricity in the house but I am sure the wiring is very old and would need to be replaced. Originally we were not going to put electric in but the reality of the extra work involved of living without it has set in. I am keeping my job in the "city" and will have an 1 1/2 hour commute and don't think I will be able to keep up without it. The house is 3,000 square feet, 5 bedrooms, 2 baths, with a coal stove. Aside from the wiring, I would like to put in an electric baseboard heating system as a back-up for the coal stove. There is a pole within 20 feet of the house. How much should I anticipate in spending on this work? Thanks in advance.

2. I am not an electrician but I can give you some information based on my recent remodeling project. It would really depend on how “open” the walls are inside the house. If you intend to gut the house, wiring becomes an easy job. If you intend to keep the existing walls intact, wires must be pulled behind the walls with wire snakes. This job can be very time consuming (time is money) and may be impossible to do in some of the rooms, forcing some demolition. I just had a 2500sf 1890 farmhouse “rewired”. The kitchen, master bedroom and bathroom(s) were gutted, 4 other rooms left intact but rewired to code (codes can be a real pain in the bum!). The electrician bill came in at $13000.00. That did not involve wiring for electric heat or running wires from the street. You can probably figure on another $3000 for the electric heat and $500 to $2000 for the street wiring (depending on if you want to put the wires underground or above ground). This is assuming you can find someone who is interested in rewiring an old house. In my