Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not quite sure on how to use compost for the garden. I'm going to try making some manure tea from it like I saw in a picture that moonwolf posted, but other than that, how do I use it? It's like a sludgy texture at the bottom of the bin and has little bugs crawling through it when I move it around with the hoe. Ick.
I could really use your advice on this. I don't want to mess with it until I know what I'm doing. Thanks.

·
Metal melter
7,152 Posts
I'd say you don't have enough air circulation if it is sludgy. You mentioned a "bin"...is it plastic?...are there drain holes?

I use mine just like dirt. I fill up my raised beds with the stuff.

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's wooden. There are thin slats along the sides and bottom.

·
Tub-thumper
1,588 Posts
It's good to turn it on a regular basis, as well.

I'm not a compost expert but I try to keep a fairly even balance of green and brown and it seems to work okay for me. When I first started, I didn't have a good balance and got black sludgy ick on the bottom of my pile, too.

/VM

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
via media, I've been turning it consistently and I just added more grass clippings and kitchen scraps to it on Sunday night. I'm anxious to use the composted portion which was why I was asking. Thanks for the replies so far.

·
Registered
31,752 Posts
'They' always say that finished compost should have the texture of a wrung out sponge. This escapes me-I can't picture dirt-like stuff being like that.

Anyway, yours does sound too wet. I just turned my pile after many weeks b/c couldn't get to it due to rain. Its still 'crumbly' and not all has composted. I still have tiny sticks & a banana sticker here & there.

I use a garden fork to load it into a little wagon then scoop it around the plants. Then if it hasn't just rained, I water it in a little.

Hope this helps.

Patty

·
Registered