Question about Butchering

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by Susan-DonB, Nov 8, 2004.

1. Susan-DonB

Susan-DonB Member

This may be a dumb question but I am new to farming and a city slicker so please allow some grace time.

When you take a pig to a processor to be killed and butchered, how do you know you are getting YOUR pig back? And how do you know you are getting ALL your meat?

I dont want to insult the man when I take my pigs to him next year that I am going to raise next summer.

Thanks,
    Susan Berry
    NC

2. Wanda

Wanda Well-Known Member

Susan
    Ask him if you can watch him do the deed :D Seriously talk to the locals that use his services and then go talk to the owner!! Most people that have been in buisnes for any lenght of time do it by repeat buisnes. The ones that cry the loudest about switched meat ect. have no clue what they should be getting back! When you talk to your butcher ask him what average dressing% are and what the average yield of each primal cut is. In the last 40 years of dealing with lockers I have only met 1 crook and he did not stay in buisnes 2 full years. Pick a time when the butcher is not busy(kill days) and have a friendly chat and I think you will find that most of them are very nice people. When your beast is vet inspected and slaughtered the will put a tag with your name on the carcas halves when it goes to the cooler. When your beast is brought out to be cut and wrapped they will do it by itself and the pkgs. will be labeled with the name of the cut and your name. All of the pkgs. will be grouped together and be quick frozen and you will be called to come get your homegrown meat. They will ask you beforehand how you want it cut and the amount per pkg. I would say that the odds are very much in your favor that the local butcher will be an upstanding member of the comunity. If there is more than 1 cchoice go and see them all.
    Mr Wanda
    Mike

3. GeorgeK

GeorgeK Well-Known Member