Q. about milking out doe with no kid

Discussion in 'Goats' started by astrocow, May 19, 2005.

1. astrocow

astrocow Well-Known Member

We just bought a young doe yesterday, 11 months old whose kid died soon after birth. I've milked her but it's a slow process as I'm not good at it. I got about 2 cups at night (colostrum) and the next day at noon got about 1/2 cup then a cup more at dinner time. I just want to know if I'm taking enough so she doesn't suffer discomfort or mastitis.
    Her udder isn't huge, if I cup both my hands together that would be the size.
    I'm aware she was bred too young. That wasn't my doing. Anyway since she's young, small and a boer crossed with an alpine just how much should I be getting from her each day? She's currently being grass fed. I don't want to dry her off but would like to keep her milk after the colostrum production is over. When will her milk be okay for human consumption? Can I get it to increase if I fed her grain? We have another goat that is in milk that we bought along with her.
    Thanks
    Leigh

2. Helena

Helena Well-Known Member