Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please bear with this...I'm new to the fruit tree arena. We close on our homestead in a couple of days. There is a well established apple tree on the property. Like many things on the property it's been awhile since someone took care of it. I was wondering what is a good time of year to prune? Can I do it this late since we've already had frost and snow expected in a couple days? Should I just wait until spring? HELP!!! Thanks:facepalm:

·
Registered
9,575 Posts
What Po Boy says, especially if it's been a long time, and you need to do some hard pruning. You may want to break it up into two or more years and go slow. First year just clean the tree up nicely and prune out sick, diseased and damaged stuff. Second year start taking it where you want to go.

·
Premium Member
5,207 Posts
you already got great advice... just here to say I agree with doing a bit each year and not all at once. Here in MIchigan I do in early March

Reactions: beegrowing and Lizg

·
Retired farmer-rancher
3,022 Posts
Above posts are right. Do it when the tree is dormant, Feb or March before any sign of budding. Also, never remove more than 1/3 of the tree at one time. It might take you a few years to catch up if it has been neglected for long.

·
Premium Member
1,729 Posts
When I was growing up I worked for a farmer who had a couple hundred acres of apple trees. He had about 4 full time employees and a couple of part timers which was me - We would start trimming them in late November and work right up until the trees had small leaves. Even then we never got them all done. He used to joke that he always liked to say he had so many trees he wasn't able to get them all trimmed.

·
Registered
63 Posts