Problem with old tiller...

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by gardentalk, Sep 17, 2005.

1. gardentalk

gardentalk Well-Known Member

Today my wife and I went 'yard sale' shopping. We never expected to find a tiller for sale, for $35. Because we don't have a truck, we paid the old man $60 for the tiller and to take it to our place. Darn, does that thing jerk the snot out of you when it's running. No complaints, though, I knew it was going to be rough. At least we have a tiller, albeit a sick one. The problem is this. I'm not a mechanic, have a ton to learn about how motors work. I think it is the "choke", that little flap that moves slightly near the fuel tank. Anyway, if you hold that choke open, the motor runs fast, as it should (otherwise, you can't even get it to till because of how slow it runs). If you don't, then the motor will just sputter to death until it quits. Okay, so the only way I knew to be able to till was to keep the "breather" off the motor. I'm tilling along, and all of a sudden I hear a popping sound and it just quits. I pulled, and pulled, and pulled on the string to get the motor to start. No go. After doing it for probably 15 minutes or more, it finally started, but this time I didn't want to run the tiller without the breather on. What I think happened is that dust got into the area where the fuel and the flap is. Am I correct on that? If so, how can I fix this tiller so the flap stays open, so that I can keep the breather on? The filter inside the breather is so old that when you touch it, it just crumbles. Otherwise, I'm thrilled to even have a tiller, and am just amazed how it so finally breaks up the dirt. :)

2. moopups

moopups In Remembrance

In beautiful downtown Sticks, near Belleview, Fl.