Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
688 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I tried canning turnips and it blew almost all the water out. The same thing happens with beets and apples. What am I doing wrong? I wait about 10 minutes before putting the weight over the hole. The green beans do fine but I can them in quarts instead of the pints I have been doing everything else in.

Any advice?

·
Registered
1,935 Posts
Hmm, I am not an expert canner, but I do have a guess.....chances are that you are not making sure that the bubbles (air) inside the jars has been stirred out. I use a thin spatula type tool, looks rather like a plastic cake knife. Spend a few extra seconds after you have filled your jars and before you put your hot lids on, stirring/jiggling the air out.

Also, I don't "wait ten minutes" before putting on the weight. I start timing my ten minutes after I see a steady, very STRONG stream of steam venting. When that ten minutes is over, I put on the weights and watch until the ga. reads at least 12 pounds, then dial back the heat so it will stay just above ten pounds. I don't start my canning time until the needle goes over ten pounds.

Of course, I am pretty anal about home canning and I absolutely will not take any short cuts. Seldom have a failed seal and never had anyone sick from anything I canned.

Interesting factoid for my location-both canner gauges will "rest" at just about 11 pounds here. Less heat and they will plummet below what's safe. I asked a gal at the Co-op Ext. Service about that, apparantly that's the norm for my area. Weird, hunh?

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
HI MWG