Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Question... I have a patch of ground I'd like to plant but am wondering how to do it. The ground is growing weeds and grass at present. How do I go from this stage to a nicely prepared soil bed for vegetable planting? Steps I see:

1. Kill grass and weeds. Not sure how.
2. Till soil (with what?)
3. Amend soil (with what?)
4. Plant

I had considered buying used road signs and covering the area I want to plant to kill grass/weeds. Expensive and would take time to kill the grass/weeds before I could plant. Was thinking instead of covering with landscape fabric after I till and amend the soil, so that grass/weeds won't grow, and just poking holes in it every 4-8 inches (depending on what's growing there) to plant seeds. This will gradually kill the grass and weeds except for places where I'm also trying to grow vegetables.

This is my first time starting a new garden plot in a place that's currently growing grass that will soon be unwanted. I'm sure I'm missing something. Garden is planned to be about 5000 square feet.

Thanks in advance for helpful replies.

·
Be powerful. No other option exists.
38,288 Posts
You need a small tractor and disc or tiller attachment. Disc disc disc. Let it sit a couple of days and disk again.

DO NOT SPRAY HERBICIDES on your planned planting area.

Take a soil sample to the county extension office and have it tested. Have them explain the results to you so that you will know what amendments you need to add.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You need a small tractor and disc or tiller attachment. Disc disc disc. Let it sit a couple of days and disk again.

DO NOT SPRAY HERBICIDES on your planned planting area.

Take a soil sample to the county extension office and have it tested. Have them explain the results to you so that you will know what amendments you need to add.
Thank you. I'll consult with a friend who owns a tractor. :)