Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am somewhat new to the goat world. i have had a few pet goats in the past but this one is all new to me. A friend called before Thanksgiving and said a goat had wondered to her house and wouldnt leave. She did not want the goat and the owner made several attempts to catch it without success. The owner told her the goat was pregnant with two babies and then abandoned the goat. This is where I come in. I caught the goat and have had it since. Her udders are filling up and I seem to be seeing her right side moving, but I do not know if and when she will have any babies. I have been researching and trying to find info and it seems that she should be around 115 -120 days along. Forgive me for my inexperience but what do I need to do next? She is in a 16 x 16 area right now. I have been cutting hedge for her to eat as she will not eat corn, goat feed, or sweet feed. Any help is appreciated. [email protected]

·
Premium Member
4,057 Posts
I'm the resident expert on this topic.

Do this: lock her in a stall with plenty of food, fresh water and clean bedding. Keep her there for 5 months. If, at any time in that 5 month period, she delivers babies, she was definitely pregnant.

You're welcome.

·
Registered
13,422 Posts
Heh, CJB. That cracked me up.

I've got a female Nubian who I swear his pregnant but her udder hasn't filled yet. Hasn't even started to grow. She's so big she looks like she may have eaten 3 other goats, and eats like she has to FEED those three other goats inside. But no udder swell yet. That's the only way I've ever been able to tell. Short of going outside and seeing new kids wandering around in the pasture.

·
Registered
1,538 Posts
I'm the resident expert on this topic.