Potbellie pigs???

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by moopups, Aug 1, 2004.

1. moopups

moopups In Remembrance

In beautiful downtown Sticks, near Belleview, Fl.
    Are they worth the trouble? Are they smarter than regular pigs? Isn't it nice to see a new subject on the main board? What do they taste like? How much bacon is normal?

2. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

Mitch, After you have trained your pig to sit on a chair and share your meals with you, you would do him in and eat him? Why couldn't you turn the whole pig into bacon? Once you have everything cut into slabs and smoked then silced real thin wouldn't most of it taste like bacon? You could fry a lardy slice right next to a solid lean slice to even the score and grease the skillet.

3. GeorgeK

GeorgeK Well-Known Member

I've been eating potbellies for about 8 years. I dont castrate, and the animals are pastured so they are lean enough, the "bacon" meat goes into sausage. The flavor is more akin to beef than commercial pork

4. Zuiko

Zuiko Well-Known Member

I would also like to get a few. As livestock at first at least "pets" And maybe butcher or have them butchered later. I think it would give the good parts of pigs (uprooting, tilling, etc) and the satisfaction of having more variety, without the massiveness of other pigs. I may consider getting some feeder pigs though. Right now my pig plans are on hold temporarily, as I make way for mini donkeys I found for sale. Then it will be back to the pigs...

5. QTee

QTee I love country living!

So I'm not sure what this means...are potbellie pigs real fatty and not good for meat and thier meat doesn't taste like pork? :confused:

6. John_in_Houston

John_in_Houston Well-Known Member

George, do you think they would crossbreed well with feral pigs?

7. DayBird

DayBird Big Bird

Why do you not castrate? Does this cause the pig to stay leaner? Is being leaner what gives it a beefier taste?

8. Thumper/inOkla.