Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7,100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are they worth the trouble? Are they smarter than regular pigs? Isn't it nice to see a new subject on the main board? What do they taste like? How much bacon is normal?

·
Premium Member
7,154 Posts
Mitch, After you have trained your pig to sit on a chair and share your meals with you, you would do him in and eat him? Why couldn't you turn the whole pig into bacon? Once you have everything cut into slabs and smoked then silced real thin wouldn't most of it taste like bacon? You could fry a lardy slice right next to a solid lean slice to even the score and grease the skillet.

·
Registered
851 Posts
I've been eating potbellies for about 8 years. I dont castrate, and the animals are pastured so they are lean enough, the "bacon" meat goes into sausage. The flavor is more akin to beef than commercial pork

·
Registered
124 Posts
I would also like to get a few. As livestock at first at least "pets" And maybe butcher or have them butchered later. I think it would give the good parts of pigs (uprooting, tilling, etc) and the satisfaction of having more variety, without the massiveness of other pigs. I may consider getting some feeder pigs though. Right now my pig plans are on hold temporarily, as I make way for mini donkeys I found for sale. Then it will be back to the pigs...

·
I love country living!
216 Posts
So I'm not sure what this means...are potbellie pigs real fatty and not good for meat and thier meat doesn't taste like pork? :confused:

·
Registered
311 Posts
GeorgeK said:
I've been eating potbellies for about 8 years. I dont castrate, and the animals are pastured so they are lean enough, the "bacon" meat goes into sausage. The flavor is more akin to beef than commercial pork
George, do you think they would crossbreed well with feral pigs?

·
Big Bird
2,173 Posts
GeorgeK said: