potato's but no plant

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by tobo6, Jul 19, 2004.

1. tobo6

tobo6 Well-Known Member

Today I was going to use my potato bed for a pathway in my garden, but I thought I would dig in the dirt to see what the potato's did. My first shovel full of dirt also showed about 10 little 2 inch potato's!!! I have no plants growing out of the ground, so how did the potato's reproduce and grow? This is my first year trying potato's, and I saved a bag of potato's all winter to plant this spring. They all had sprouts and I was very careful not to break them. I planted the whole potato instead of just making sure there were a couple eyes on each piece. I was so suprised that none of them grew a plant.

What do I do know? Should I wait and then dig them up later and collect the potato's, or are they not going to amount to anything since there are no plants?

Deb

2. katydidagain

katydidagain Adventuress--Definition 2 Supporter

Gosh, Deb, you're really jumping in headfirst, aren't you? :haha: (I'm very jealous of your blueberry find!)

Are they shriveled? If so, I don't think they did anything. Any small nuggets or just the same ones you planted? I'm not a potato expert but have planted grocery store starts. I always cut them into 1/4ths or so but mine made taters after making plants!

katy

3. tobo6

tobo6 Well-Known Member

lol, that's the thing they are new potato's, not the one's I planted!! I thought maybe rabbits or some critter was eating the plants but I'm out there all the time and you would think I'd see a little growth.

Deb

4. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

To have new potatos they would have to be planted at least two months. If the potatos didn't grow there, what did? Good ground don't stay bare that long around here.

5. Paquebot

Paquebot Well-Known Member