Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 20 of 86 Posts

· Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The wife and I were talking last night and there never seems to be much in any source that is positive anymore. Everything is a debate, argument or even divisive. None of that on this post. Pick any subject (mechanics, electrical, plumbing, cooking, fishing, gardening, medical...etc, literally any subject) and share something you do, know or practice that you think others might not know and would be helpful to them. A couple friends and I did something like this in college requiring each person to tell the others something they didn't know about the subject when heading into an exam. Sometimes it took a while but it was a good way to share info and help each other prepare.

I recently started studying coins and their collectability. I think most people know that 1964 is the last year for quarter and dime production at 90% silver. What I had no clue about with new coins is that a Westpoint quarter made in 2019 to 2020 are worth a minnimum $15 each. It only takes a second to check them. Look for the year and then look for a W mint mark. I actually found one in my coin jar on my dresser.

When welding cast iron you need to preheat it, weld in short beads then ping (tap it to keep it from cracking) it. I had to weld a busted water pump and tried something different for pinging.I fell on my chainsaw last year and almost lost a finger. Surgery, splint and so forth handicapped me on this project so I resorted to thinking outside the box. I used my needle scaler for pinging and that did the trick. On something small it might not matter much but a big job can wear out your forearm if you are swinging a hammer over and over. Or if you were in my predicament. I cooled it slowly like normal and no issues.

Maybe this post will be a flop but I know we all must know something helpful that others might not.

· Registered
406 Posts