Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up three 10 foot poly urethane tunnels for season extension, since in the North we have a very VERY short growing season. I was wondering what people had grown in theirs? I'm thinking of starting leafy greens/lettuce/cold hardy kale in March, if we're not buried under 4 feet of snow. I think the book "Four Season Growing" is amazing, but I'd like to know from people's personal experiences as well.

So excited for them to get here, regardless. :sing:

·
Registered
16,519 Posts
I use plastic for tunnels all the time. If it turns really cold at night, I have to cover them with something. I'd have to do that in March, anyway, so I wouldn't use them until April here. I'm not good at remebering to go out with blankets.

I use them in my hoop house all winter. That and frost blankets make it so I can harvest until mid-Feb.

·
Banned
6,042 Posts
The best way would be to setup the tunnel. Till and prepare your soil now. get some agribon 19 and lay it on the soil as a blanket for the winter.

In mid February start a tray of your greens. They will sprout and start to grow in a sunny window. Come late march you plant them in the tunnel.

mid may your harvesting.

Here are a few picks from last spring in my hoop.

this is the first week of April.

here is a picture from late may... you can see I've been picking some kale, all the bok choy was harvested, and the summer crops were in. Yep, that's basil it was in the ground 4 weeks before the "last" frost.

Here is a pic of the lettuce... You can see it in the first image at the end of the row. This was planted on Nov. 18th and here it is the following may. We had sustained temps well below zero. With lows to -15F.