Polio?!?

Discussion in 'Sheep' started by Cat, Jan 12, 2005.

1. Cat

Cat Well-Known Member

My friend here who has the sheep farm has been having a bad run with polio in his ewes and lambs here recently. I know it's caused by a vitamin B deficiency but what is it that makes it so widespread in his flock. IMO he doesn't have the best flock management nor does he provide the best feed which has led to run down sheep however can the polio be attributed to poor management or is there a bigger factor involved?

2. bergere

bergere Just living Life

Is one thing I have no knowledge in... but I looked up Polio and here is what I found.

POLIO
    Polio is a disease caused by a deficiency of thiamine and is seen most commonly in lambs on high grain diets. The first sign of the disease is blindness. If your lamb bumps into things that it ordinarily would see and avoid, he may be showing signs of blindness. An injection of 3 cc of thiamine in the muscle will correct the condition.

If the first symptom of blindness is missed, the lamb will begin to appear wobbly in the rear end. This may be misdiagnosed as lameness. A day later, the lamb may be unable to get up but can still sit up and will be found on his side and unable to hold his head up. Finally, the lamb will die in convulsions. The course of the disease from the first sign of blindness to death will take approximately 5 days if not treated. The further in the disease course the treatment occurs, the longer it will take the lamb to recover. Generally, it will take 10 days before the lamb will begin to eat again.

Polio - polioencephalomalacia
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Signs/Symptoms of thiamin deficiency in ruminants
    By
    Oct 27, 2002, 11:19pm

Email this article
    Printer friendly page

Signs/Symptoms of thiamin deficiency in ruminants

http://www.ansci.cornell.edu/plants/toxicagents/thiaminase/thiaminase.html#thia5