Playing with ideas on keeping all of my livestock together.

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by derbosewicht, May 10, 2018.

1. derbosewicht

derbosewicht Member

So I have 4 acres of green pasture with some trees fenced in. I plan on doing 3 hot wires to keep the goats and dogs from rubbing on the fence. I want to have my 16 chickens, 3 goats, 3 pigs (AGH so should be docile enough to not kill the chickens), and 2 live stock guardian dogs in this fence. I also plan to add a couple blackbelly sheep and geese/ducks. I can keep everyone out of the coop, but I have some concerns. I am new to farming, I only have experience with chickens and bees growing up, so this is all new to me.

Will the pigs be able to destroy the 4 acres of grass?

Is there any feed that would be dangerous for the others to consume?

What are other concerns I'm not considering?

2. nehimama

nehimama An Ozark Engineer Supporter

First thing that came to mind is that the goats should NOT have access to the chicken feed. Also, sheep and goats can't safely consume the same minerals; goats need copper, but sheep do NOT.

gerold and Alice In TX/MO like this.

3. Alice In TX/MO

Alice In TX/MO More dharma, less drama. Supporter

Good luck keeping the goats out of the coop. They will squiggle through the chicken door

nehimama likes this.
  4. Bearfootfarm

Bearfootfarm Hello, hello....is there anybody in there.....? Supporter

The pigs may or may not kill the chickens and will most certainly eat any eggs they can find. They will also root up a lot of the pasture.

That's a lot of animals to have on just 4 acres and trying to run them all together.

Don't count on the LGD's not killing birds too.

Chickens are fun toys to chase and pounce upon even if they aren't trying to kill them.

HeavyHauler and nehimama like this.
  5. derbosewicht

derbosewicht Member