Planting dried beans, and where to get peanuts

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by mistymanor, Feb 26, 2004.

1. mistymanor

mistymanor Member

Okay, I feel like a complete newbie to gardening/farming sometimes, but my fiance didn't know the answer to this one either, and he's got a good green thumb:)

We're planning on raising peas, black eyed peas, and some other legumes. The question is, can we just get the 1 or 2 pound bags of dried beans from the grocery store to plant, or is there something in the drying process that keeps them from growing?

Also, we'd like to grow peanuts, but have no idea where to get seed from - any thoughts?

Thanks!

Cathi

2. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

Two good questions. I don't know the positive answer. BUT _ I would buy the beans you want, and raw peanuts in the grocery, and test them to see how well they will sprout. Our method to do this is lay a couple paper towels in a pie pan. Lay some seeds on the towels and soak the towels with water. Put plastic wrap over the whole thing and place it on top of your refrgerator. Have the towels very wet so the seeds are in contact with the water, but not submerged. They should sprout within a few days. If nothing happens in two weeks look elsewhere for seed.

3. sweetbabyjane

sweetbabyjane Well-Known Member Supporter

Hi Misty,
    Beans, Peas and Peanuts from the grocery store are fine. Remember the classroom projects where each student sprouts a bean plant to take home in a paper cup? Those come from the grocery store. If you soak your peas overnight in warm water you may notice them sprouting little tails in the morning.

For peanuts get the ones in the shell, not roasted or salted, just dried peanuts in the shell. I planted some last year and ended up with more peanuts than I knew what to do with.

Have fun!
    SBJ

4. HermitJohn

HermitJohn Well-Known Member