Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,468 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I run a small grass fed sheep flock. I'm in my second year of shepherding. I've read "Small-Scale Livestock Farming" and "Keeping a Family Cow" as well as a number of minor articles. I've toyed with the idea of oxen, but not sure I have the additional time it takes to do the training and keep them in working condition. I know that book learning only scratches the surface and I still count as a total newb.

Plan A was to someday keep 2-4 steers in with my sheep for personal use and stick to sheep for my commercial flock. I've only got 17 fence-able acres, so I can do better with smaller livestock and the extra per-head handling costs over a larger animal that needs more feed/pasture. I'd not gotten there yet because I'm trying to take one thing at a time and do it well before taking on more.

However, I've had a disagreement with my hay man, and can't find a reliable replacement, leaving me with 10 acres in need of some more intensive management than it has been getting, which is not quite big enough to really justify getting my own hay equipment. (I do have a small sickle bar for pasture management, and have a flail mower on order, but those work best in combo with livestock.) I'm thinking that cattle fence is cheaper and more mobile than good sheep fence, but I have to consider all the additional one-time costs and learning curve of having another species, especially such a large one, on the farm.

Things I know I'll need:
  • Portable Fencing
  • Portable (solar) charger
  • Water system, including a large trough and a tank for hauling water back to the rear field. (Don't see the point in running pipe if I'm going to be rotating them around properly.)
  • Mineral system, probably just a big block or bucket
  • Headgate for medical handling
  • Larger versions of all medical/docking equipment I have for the sheep
  • More forage based training treats