Pigs with Chickens?

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by TxCloverAngel, Jun 25, 2005.

1. TxCloverAngel

TxCloverAngel Happiness is Homemade

HI everyone. I am so glad I found this site, you have been a wealth of information already.
    I am new to pigs.. well new to all farm animals, but I finally got my little ole country home I have always dreamed of, and love it! My question is.. I have 3 feeder pigglets whos main objective in life seems to be playing, Who can break out of the pig pen first! Thank goodness I have 5 kids or I'd never be able to catch em ! I also have about 40 chickens, in a very secure chicken yard, I am in the process of building an un-breakoutable pig pen.. untill its done, can a put the pigglets in w/ my chickens? (will take me a few days at least) Would that be ok for them? what about the chickens? Any info would be great! Thanks in advance!

2. trappmountain

trappmountain Well-Known Member

My chickens roam free and we have a 10 week old potbelly pig that doesn't seem bothered in the least by the chickens. Tho given a chance he will steal their food. I too am new to the farm animal thing. I've had the farm but not the time. Just since April we have acquired 2 goats, 11 hens and a potbellied pig. Good luck with the animals. This sight has already been very helpful to me so I am sure you will find some good advise here. It is a great place for us newbies!!!

3. bill not in oh

bill not in oh Well-Known Member

Pigs are omnivorous. They will eat chickens if they catch them - and you've already seen how fast pigs can move!! PS: the only evidence of a pig catching a chicken will be a head count on the chickens...

4. elgordo

elgordo Well-Known Member

I wouldn't chance it!

5. TxCloverAngel

TxCloverAngel Happiness is Homemade